I should have called him calvin…

adventures with the autism spectrum

time for reflection

I have so much to be thankful for.

This post is dedicated to two people.

Firstly, to my twin sister, who welcomed her first baby on the 15th April.  It was miraculous and the most special blessing to be there with her as she gave birth.  He is the most precious angel of a baby.  My darling sister became gravely ill very soon after the birth, it turns out with an infection and this caused live threatening bleeding.  The doctors worked hard, and saved both her and her uterus.  All I will say is that when the world tilts, and you stand on the edge of a most terrifying abyss, perspective gives you a very sharp slap.  Nothing is more precious than those you love.  Nothing.  As my sister said yesterday , “Carpe diem”.

The other person this post is dedicated to is Jen of The King and Eye whose son, HRH has been very unwell.  You are in my heart.

Beannacht

(“Blessing”)

On the day when
the weight deadens
on your shoulders
and you stumble,
may the clay dance
to balance you.

And when your eyes
freeze behind
the grey window
and the ghost of loss
gets in to you,
may a flock of colours,
indigo, red, green,
and azure blue
come to awaken in you
a meadow of delight.

When the canvas frays
in the currach of thought
and a stain of ocean
blackens beneath you,
may there come across the waters
a path of yellow moonlight
to bring you safely home.

May the nourishment of the earth be yours,
may the clarity of light be yours,
may the fluency of the ocean be yours,
may the protection of the ancestors be yours.
And so may a slow
wind work these words
of love around you,
an invisible cloak
to mind your life.

~ John O’Donohue ~

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “time for reflection

  1. Fi (Wonderfully Wired Mum) on said:

    Tears here DQ….a very moving and beautiful post.

    I have been praying for both of these situations this week.

  2. Sending all the good vibes I’ve got, and thankful to know you.
    If anyone’s energy can keep a situation flowing, it’s yours.
    :)

  3. CaRRiE on said:

    All I can do is smile and offer you my love and prayers! :) ({}) we will keep you, your family and your friends son in our prayers x

  4. Such a wonderful gift to come in a difficult way. All the best to your sister, and to Jen – well, her son. Who seems as in need of prayers as anyone I know right now.

    We should never let our sorrows overwhelm our joy!

  5. Sarah CM on said:

    Bless you All. Life is very precious. xoxo

  6. They are both in my thoughts and prayers. As are you. Please keep us posted on your sister and her darling little one.

  7. Dearna on said:

    I am so glad that it turned out alright with your sister and I am sending all the positive thoughts I can to Jen and her family.

    • Thanks Dearna, my sister is doing well, recovery and healing are slow going, which she finds frustrating but she is doing a marvellous job of it. I know Jen and HRH will appreciate all the good energy coming their way, thanks :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

